Air Force Historical Studies Division   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

AF History > Fact Sheets > Air Force Medal of Honor Recipients


Posted 9/21/2015 Printable Fact Sheet
Medal of Honor
Army, Air Force and Navy versions of the Medal of Honor. The current Air Force version was approved in 1965.
Download HiRes

World War I

2nd Lt. Edwin R. Bleckley, killed in action

2nd Lt. Harold E. Goettler, killed in action

2nd Lt. Frank Luke Jr., killed in action

Capt. Edward V. Rickenbacker, died 1973

World War II

Lt. Col. Addison E. Baker, killed in action

Maj. Richard I. Bong, died in accident

Maj. Horace S. Carswell Jr. killed in action

Brig. Gen. Frederick W. Castle, killed in action

Maj. Ralph Cheli, died as POW

Col. Demas T. Craw, killed in action

Lt. Col. James H. Doolittle, died 1993

MSgt. Henry E. Erwin

2nd Lt. Robert E. Femoyer, killed in action

1st Lt. Donald J. Gott, killed in action

Maj. Pierpont M. Hamilton, died 1982

Lt. Col. James H. Howard, died 1995

2nd Lt. Lloyd H. Hughes, killed in action

Maj. John L. Jerstad, killed in action

Col. Leon W. Johnson

Col. John R. Kane

Col. Neel E. Kearby, killed in action

2nd Lt. David R. Kingsley, killed in action

1st Lt. Raymond L. Knight, killed in action

1st Lt. William R. Lawley Jr.

Capt. Darrell R. Lindsey, killed in action

SSgt. Archibald Mathies, killed in action

1st Lt. Jack W. Mathis, killed in action

Maj. Thomas B. McGuire Jr., killed in action

2nd Lt. William E. Metzger Jr., killed in action

1st Lt. Edward S. Michael, died in 1994

2nd Lt. John C. Morgan, died 1991

Capt. Harl Pease Jr., killed in action

1st Lt. Donald D. Pucket, killed in action

2nd Lt. Joseph R. Sarnoski, killed in action

Maj. William A. Shomo, died 1990

Sgt. Maynard H. Smith, died 1984

2nd Lt. Walter E. Truemper, killed in action

Lt. Col. Leon R. Vance Jr., lost at sea, 1944

TSgt. Forrest L. Vosler, died 1992

Brig. Gen. Kenneth N. Walker, killed in action

Maj. Raymond H. Wilkins, killed in action

Maj. Jay Zeamer Jr.

Korean War

Maj. George A. Davis, killed in action

Maj. Charles J. Loring, killed in action

Maj. Louis J. Sebille, killed in action

Capt. John S. Walmsley, killed in action

Vietnam War

Capt. Steven L. Bennett, killed in action

Col. George E. Day

Maj. Merlyn H. Dethlefsen, died 1987

CMSgt Richard L. Etchberger, killed in action

Maj. Bernard F. Fisher

1st Lt. James P. Fleming

Lt. Col Joe M. Jackson

Col. William A. Jones III, died 1969 in accident

A1C John L. Levitow, died 2000

A1C William H. Pitsenbarger, killed in action

Capt. Lance P. Sijan, died while POW, 1968

Lt. Col. Leo K. Thorsness

Capt. Hilliard A. Wilbanks, killed in action

Capt. Gerald O. Young, died 1990


The US Congress authorized special medals for the following:

Charles Lindbergh

William Mitchell

The U.S. Army Center of Military History maintains a listing of Medal of Honor recipients  from all services,  with citations.

Air Force Historical Studies Office, Joint Base Anacostia Bolling, DC.

 Inside AFHSD

ima cornerSearch

ima cornerMedal of Honor


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act